ADVERTISEMENT

Harleys & Helicopters

Flucospider

Star
Gold Member
Dec 15, 2008
Fluvanna
Now that's worth a discussion. Had a visitor here at the hangar in Charlottesville today. Which one would a president rather ride on?
smile.r191677.gif

No I fly a corporate jet based in Charlottesville. As a former Marine, the Marines at the Presidential Helicopter Squadron HMX-1 know me and use our hangar when they come to town. Great group of guys!

Fluco, is that odd, you were a rotor guy yet you fly jets as now? always thought pilots stuck to their deal, although don't know your deal completely, other than flying the choppers while a marine. G4, 5? also, since you fly a corporate, what is the word on the honda jets, as good as all the other stuff they make or are they out of their league on this endeavor?

This post was edited on 8/29 5:09 PM by WebSpinner

Spinner, I received my fixed wing time when I was a Flight Instructor in the T-34C based in Corpus Christi. All Naval Aviators start in the fixed wing trainer and then move to helos, jets or transports. I was fortunate enough to come back as an instructor and got enough hours to get a commuter job flying SAABs for Business Express out of New York and then landed this job 12 years ago flying a Falcon 20. The Honda jet appears to be a great aircraft and is being assembled in Greensboro, NC. On the small side, but great personal use jet.

thanks, learn something new every day, was unaware of the naval process, cool. was really excited when i read that honda was going to build personal jets but then the economy deal hit and was not sure if they would follow through. think i read that they do not build their own engines, maybe GE? it is rather small and not quite as gorgeous as i, personally like but still neat. the falcon is a great looking plane, how many hours do you get in per month?

Marine One's pilot is the son of a H-SC fraternity brother of mine, himself a Marine Corps 2 star general, now retired.